All you need to know about my tastes

June 19, 2009

…will be revealed through my Netflix queue. According to my algorithmic overlords, I am interested in:

Dark Independent Dramas

Witty Foreign Comedies

Critically-acclaimed Cerebral Political Movies (as opposed to the critically-panned cerebral political movies)

Violent Crime Thrillers

and Emotional Military Movies Based on Real Life.

Yeah, I’m definitely not a romantic comedy kind of gal.

In other news, I’ll be checking out Folsom Street East this Sunday with a friend. Hopefully the weather will cooperate. I can’t imagine that fetish gear and rain mix well.

4 Responses to “All you need to know about my tastes”


  1. Of all the women in my life, I think only a handful are interested in romantic comedies. I find the entire “chick flick” phenomena strange and mysterious. Where are all these women?

    “Emotional Military Movies Based on Real Life” is a real category? That sounds awfully specific!

    I managed to get: Suspenseful Crime TV Dramas, Dark Foreign Movies, Mind-bending Fantasy, Independent Action & Adventure, and *coff* Children & Family Movies.

    I think that last one is all of the positive votes I’ve given to Miyazaki and Pixar films.

    I, too, may check out Folsom Street East with my lover if the weather cooperates. I’m crossing my fingers for sun and attempting to ignore the weather reports.


  2. Oddly enough, quite a few of my vanilla female friends love romantic comedies. It puzzles me since they’re all smart and many of them share my sense of humor. I guess they could be into the harmless escapism of these things, but I’ve always found them dumb and cliched. And in recent years, they’ve become ragingly sexist and even misogynistic. I suspect this genre is like women’s glossy magazines: designed to insidiously undermine women.

    I’ll let you all know how FSE turns out. Looks like it’s going to be a rainy day after all 😦

  3. W Says:

    Fetish gear & rainy weather…

    Only good for the latex fetishists….


  4. Forgot to update about FSE. It was smaller than I’d expected, and more subdued. Lots of dudes, of course. I saw more naked asses and cock in public than I’d ever seen.

    I was dressed vanilla, so I felt a little conspicuous. And my companion wasn’t helping by continually pointing out the interesting get-ups and body parts all around me. Although it was my first sex-oriented kind of public event, I’m pretty sure that, like elsewhere, staring and pointing are not welcome behavior. Plus, I was afraid of looking like a tourist.

    We ended up staying for only about 40 minutes before walking to a diner for food. Then there was a fun little experience at Union Square involving a pink sweater-wearing lunatic, a sudden downpour, a big umbrella, and some slightly inappropriate behavior. Maybe I’ll write about it sometime 🙂


Leave a Reply

