PSA: I’m not submissive

May 14, 2009

‘Lowdown’ (low down, low-down) has a few definitions:

  1. The inside facts, the dope, the scoop, the truth, i.e. “What’s the lowdown on that Charlie Crist fellow?”
  2. Unfair, dirty, contemptible, i.e. “that lowdown, rotten sonofabitch had it comin’ to ’em!”
  3. Funky: (of jazz) having the soulful feeling of early blues (hence, the Woody Allen film)

“Low down” could also mean, literally, being low to the ground, though using it in this way might sound a little awkward.

Someone once asked me if I thought this name might be interpreted as submissive. I didn’t think anyone would be literal enough to take it that way, especially given the popularity of the movie, but I guess I was wrong.

One Response to “PSA: I’m not submissive”

  1. axe Says:

    Anyone who mistakes you for being submissive is in for a very big surprise.


Leave a Reply

